Playing the Good Psalms of the Psaltery

Alkaline

Isn’t this a great looking bike? So Stylish.

Baby Psaltery1

This is my Baby Psaltrey by Zither Heaven

I had a wonderful day at the waterfront in the city I live in, Vallejo. I got on my Alkaline HyBike, www.hybike.com; placed my baby Psaltery in the basket and took off. It was a beautiful, brisk sunny day and I loved being out. This bike gets me to the waterfront in 10 minutes. I Found a nice place to park in front of the coffee place, Panama Red. I was pondering as to whether to get a rich, taste intensive, Pumpkin Spice latte, but I decided on their house blend. I sat at the bench, rosined up my bow and started playing scales. I am starting to get the feel of where the sweet spot on the string is. As I was playing, a man and a woman came up. The husband said that he had seen a Psaltery before, but never up close. I asked him if he would like to play it and he did. I told them the short history of the Bowed Psaltery, that it was created by a German school teacher who wanted an instrument for students to learn that would be easier to play than a violin. He said that he plays in a band in Vallejo at a local club on Marin street from 5 to 9. I had no idea there was a club here in Vallejo.  My husband and I are going to have to hear him play.WateronWater1109

While I was Practicing Danny Boy. I had another person who was curious about my baby Psaltery, made by Zither Heaven. She loved the sound and wanted to know more about it and where she could get one. Again I gave the short history on the Bowed Psaltery and the website, www.zitherheaven.com I happen to  mention that I will be teaching a beginning class on the Bowed Psaltery in the spring. She was interested in taking the class I handed her a card. Yay, another potential Psalteryist! When I was getting ready to go home, I saw a mother and her kids walking. I think they were waiting for the ferry. I asked Denise, the little girl, if she would like to play my Psaltery. I showed her how to hold the Psaltery and the bow and in minutes she was making some very nice tones. She told me she is learning the guitar. She is teaching herself. Another fellow guitarist. What a great day. I got to ride my Alkaline HyBike, which is now being charged. I got to play my Psaltery in the sunshine and playing next to the water, which is one of my most favorite places to be. I got to drink a great cup of java and talk to other people about this very special instrument. I am starting to feel like a Johnny Appleseed spreading the good Psalms of the Psaltery. The more I play on the baby Psaltery or Rose, my Baritone Psaltery, the more I feel this is a very special journey I am on and enthusiastically open to where this path will lead me.

Leave a Reply

