The Magical Spirit of Santa

Magical 3D SantaI get so excited when it is officially Christmas season (even though Costco seems to think it is July). As soon as Black Friday is upon us, it is my cue to start playing Christmas music. I love the whole feeling, sentiments, notes, lyrics and different arrangements of all the Christmas songs. I think my favorite songs are “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas and Silent Night. My favorite Christmas movies are White Christmas, The Christmas Story and It’s a Wonderful Life. I love it when it is cold and I get to enjoy my favorite drink, a Peppermint Mocha (I’m having it right now thanks to Coffee Mate).  My husband David is Making Almond Biscotti, so the aroma of amaretto and cookies is floating through the house. This afternoon I am making chocolate cookies and finishing decorating the house. And this year in the spirit of Christmas I am making 3D Christmas cards. I am looking at the on my mantel and seeing the 11 cards I have made so far to give to friends and family. I feel like a Santa making things in my holiday workshop I set up in our dining room. That seems to be the heart of the house. David and I work on our computers. My Piano is here and ready for me to play whenever I am inspired. You will see our cats, Oski, Moon and Fiona sleeping in my meditation chair or on David’s computer table. Sometimes you may also see Reggie or Buster taking a nap under the dining room table. Very cozy and comfortable, so why not continue the Santa Spirit by making Christmas cards? I sometimes wish I still believed there was an actual Santa. My Dad was very good at keeping us guessing about Santa. I was 8 years old and I still believed in Santa. I remember one Christmas, we went to stay with my Aunt Hortetia and her family in  San Lorenzo. My Dad would say “Santa is arriving any minute, keep watching.”  He had such enthusiasm, I believed it. In my 8 year old mind I was visualizing Santa walking in his red suit, black boots, carrying our presents in his magical sack. Even though we got so tired and finally went to bed. I woke up the next day regretting that I couldn’t stay awake to see the real Santa. Those were good memories. So I can keep the spirit of Santa by making and giving away my Handmade 3D Christmas cards.

Leave a Reply

