I’M Batty for Bats!

Yes, I am declaring I love these mammals. They are smart, sweet, affectionate and very expressive. They have many different vocalizations. And guess what many of the things that bats do have helped develop medications to our species. NO, they will not suck your blood dry. Amanda Lollar founder of the Bat World Sanctuary says “That is only in the movies”. I first learned about bats when my friend and fellow artist, Angelique Stacy shared a post about bats on Facebook. There was a photo of a bat named Pants cuddling with a Teddy Bear. Then I saw another photo of a bat named Lizzie and she had an expression that said she loves and knows how to have fun. That was it. I started thinking of words to write a song inspired by Lizzie titled “If Lizzie could talk what would she say”. The melody came really fast and I knew that the Universe was saying it’s time to get back to work. I don’t consider this a job, I consider this a joy! I made a donation to Bat Worlds Sanctuary and received a very nice email from Amanda. So I emailed Amanda back and told her my idea about writing a song and donating 75% of the sales back to the Bat World Sanctuary. Amanda emailed me back and said “Hi Evie, This sounds wonderful! Your music is really beautiful:)….Thank you so much!” So in the next few months, I will be writing and keeping you all posted of the evolution of this project. I wanted to leave you with a link to a video of Amanda being interviewed by David Letterman:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhPRvkL2WyA

Amanda dispels myths about Bats with David Letterman

Amanda dispels myths about Bats with David Letterman

Leave a Reply

