What is Your Spiritual Calling?

Found this cute photo of Pants. She looks like she is smiling.

Found this cute photo of Pants. She looks like she is smiling.

When you walk through the door of a new consciousness, a new awareness it is magic. However, this is a natural phenomena. We just may not know it. I meditate everyday a 40 minute session and them 5 minute meditation tune ups through out the day. I am open to all possibilities. This is a blessing because I never know where I will receive a new message on starting a new project, a new way of looking at a situation in a different way. Maybe the message will come from a phone conversation when I am talking to my brother (which is what happened the other day). Maybe Oski (my 11 year old Bombay mix) will send me a thought that helps me to understand what a certain behavior means; Maybe I will get a vision on a new art project or a new video/song project. Maybe it will be a new calling. Mediation helps me to clear out mental chatter so I will be ready to accept a new opportunity for doing my spiritual work as a Joy Guide. Be patient I am going with something here.

Recently, while I was on my Facebook page, a friend who is a fellow artist and renaissance woman, Angelique Stacy, sent me a photo of a bat holding a teddy bear. So cute. I look in the eyes and I see a consciousness. Very intriguing. I didn’t know a lot about bats, but in the Medicine Cards by Jaime Sands, Bat is the medicine of death/rebirth. I “liked” the photo, then I started receiving more photos of bats. I started seeing how sweet they can be, what a playful nature they have. Then I started finding out more and found out that they destroy the bugs that can destroy crops. other short factoids: Bats are not blind, they do not suck your blood, and their wings are actually their hands! Amazing, right?

In fact, bats are so misunderstood. I realized I was receiving a calling to help raise awareness about the way we may feel about them. I happened to join the Bat World Sanctuary and got a really sweet note from the founder, Amanda Lollar. I was so touched she went out of my way to send me a personal thank you that I shared with her an idea of recording a single and distributing on ITunes, Amazon, CD Baby and 75% of sales going back to the organization. Amanda emailed me back and agreed that it was a wonderful idea. So now I am starting on this recording project.

Besides getting the licensing rights to cover the song “Ordinary Miracle” I am also going to create a video to go with it. All these things fell in to place within a short amount of time. This is how it works, if you ask God to “use me”. Events occur very fast. So stay tuned. This is a wonderful work in progress and will be interesting to see how it evolves.

Leave a Reply

